The Islamic Haven
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Finding Peace at the Heart of Islam

HomePortalLatest imagesRegisterLog in
~Bismillahir Rahmanir Raheem~ Salam Alaikum, Welcome sisters and brothers, Muslim and Non-Muslim friends! Come learn and share with us.

Questions about Zakah

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Obedient Angel
Admin
Admin

Questions about Zakah Empty
PostSubject: Questions about Zakah   Questions about Zakah Icon_minitimeSun Jun 26, 2011 7:56 am

Question

I am a student who wishes to know when Zakat is due? If I make about $200-$300 dollars every two weeks do I have to pay Zakat? Where do I give Zakat to? Does it have to be to a muslim and please give me examples of places in non-Muslim countries where I can give Zakat (ex. Mosques).

Answer

Praise be to Allaah.

1.  The time when zakaah is due is when you have kept the money for a whole year. Then zakaah becomes due, and the rate is 2.5%. This amount that you get every two weeks is not subject to zakaah unless you have kept it for a whole year, or it is income from a business for which the time has come to pay zakaah.
2.   Pay your zakaah in the country in which you live, if there are poor people there. If there is another country where there are poor people who are in greater need than people in your country, then it is OK to give your zakaah to them.
3.     Yes, the one who receives the zakaah has to be Muslim, except in the case where there is a non-Muslim whom we want to encourage to become Muslim.

Shaykh Sa’d al-Humayd.  

The lowest amount at which zakaah becomes due varies according to the type of wealth, whether it is gold or silver. You are undoubtedly asking about an amount of currency such as dollars. It appears that the amount mentioned in the question will be subject to zakaah if it is kept for a whole year, because it is more than the nisaab.

Source: Islam Q&A  Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid